Having a Landlord-Tenant Problem?
The Burbank Landlord-Tenant Commission can help.
The Commission meets on the first Monday of every month in Conference Room #104 located in the Burbank Community Services Building, 150 N. Third St., Burbank, CA at 6:15 p.m.
Both landlords and tenants are welcome to attend the meetings. If you would like to attend the next meeting, please complete the Landlord-Tenant Questionnaire below and return it to the Housing Authority Office. The Commission provides assistance in resolving problems.
Click here for Landlord-Tenant Commission Agendas and Minutes.
For additional assistance with resolving residential Landlord-Tenant questions or issues, the Commission meets monthly for education and mediation:
The Landlord-Tenant Commission
Meets the first Monday of the Month
6:15 p.m. in Conference Room #104 of the Community Services Building
150 N. Third Street
Burbank, CA 91502
The 2019/2020 Landlord-Tenant Commissioners are:
Commissioner Tonja Stump, Chair
Commissioner Sheri Small, Vice-Chair
Commissioner Suzy Jacobs
Commissioner Judy Smith
Commissioner Cari Pelayo
Mortgage Assistance Options:
- Fannie Mae Assistance Options for Homeowners Impacted by COVID-19. See here for more information.
- Freddie Mac. See here for more information.
Please note: Within the CARES Act, section 4023, concerns Forbearance of Residential Mortgage Loan Payments for Multifamily properties with Federally Back Loans, (2)(d)(2) states:
- A multifamily borrower that receives a forbearance under this section may not, for the duration of the forbearance—
(1) evict or initiate the eviction of a tenant from a dwelling unit located in or on the applicable property solely for nonpayment of rent or other fees or charges; or
(2) charge any late fees, penalties, or other charges to a tenant described in paragraph (1) for late payment of rent.
For information on the CARES Act, please click the link: https://www.congress.gov/bill/116th-congress/house-bill/748/text
Housing Rights Center Virtual Services
The Housing Rights Center is providing virtual educational workshops three times a week beginning April 1st. Please click the link for more information: HRC Virtual Services
New California Tenant Protections
On October 8th, 2019 Governor Newsom signed SB 329, SB 222, and AB 1497 into law. All bills will become effective starting January 1st, 2020. Please click the link below for the press release from the Housing Rights Center (HRC) addressing the new California tenant protections.
If you have any questions, feel free to reach the Housing Rights Center at (213) 397-8400 ext.1104
Tenants Together is a statewide coalition of local tenant organizations dedicated to defending and advancing the rights of California tenants to safe, decent, and affordable housing. Please click the links below for more information on resources such as: AB 1482, rent control laws, and sample letters.
New Law Related to Rent Increase Notification
As of January 1, 2020, AB 1110 requires a landlord provide 90 days’ notice for a rent increase on a residential dwelling month-to-month tenancy of more than 10% (of the amount of the rent charged to a tenant annually). Prior law required 60 days’ notice for a rent increase over 10%. A rent increase of 10% or less on a month-to-month tenancy remains at 30 days’ notice. For more information, please visit the state legislative website at: http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200AB1110
Health and Safety Resources: Los Angeles County Public Health http://publichealth.lacounty.gov/eh/AreasofInterest/housing.htm
Burbank Smoking Ordinance
For more information, please contact:
Burbank Housing Authority Office
150 N. Third St.
Burbank, CA 91502