
  Sidewalk Vending 

 

SIDEWALK VENDING APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS 

AN APPLICATION FOR A SIDEWALK VENDING LICENSE SHALL INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION: 

1. The applicant's name, current mailing address, and telephone number; 

 

2. A copy of a valid California's driver's license or identification number, an individual taxpayer 

identification number, or a social security number. Such information is not a public record and will 

remain confidential as required by Government Code section 51038(c)(4); 

 

3. If the vendor is an agent of an individual, company, partnership, or corporation, the name and 

business address of the principal; 

 

4. A description of the food and/or merchandise to be offered for sale and any vending equipment to 

be used (including the dimensions of the vending carts and mode of transportation); 

 

5. A copy of a valid California Department of Tax and Fee Administration seller's permit, as required; 

 

6. If a vendor of food, proof of all required approvals from the Los Angeles County Department of 

Public Health; 

 

7. A description, map, or drawing of the location(s) in which the applicant proposes to operate; 

 

8. A statement of the days and hours of proposed vending operations and whether the sidewalk 

vendor intends to operate as a stationary sidewalk vendor or a roaming sidewalk vendor; 

 

9. Proof of comprehensive general liability insurance with minimum policy limits of one million dollars 

($1,000,000) per occurrence, combined single limit coverage, and one million dollars ($1,000,000) in 

the aggregate against any injury, death, loss or damage as a result of wrongful or negligent acts or 

omissions by the permittee, with an endorsement naming the City as an additional insured. 

 

10. An agreement by the applicant to indemnify and hold harmless the City, its officers and employees, 

for any damage or injury caused to the City as a result of the sidewalk vending conduct or activity. 

 

11. The applicant's certification that, to his or her knowledge and belief, the information contained in 

the application is true; and 

 

12. Such other information as the Director deems necessary for the administration or enforcement of 

this article as specified on the required application form. 
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SIDEWALK VENDING OPERATING REQUIREMENTS 

Stationary sidewalk vendors shall not operate in residential zones or in any park for which the city has 

entered an exclusive concessionaire agreement; they may only operate at the location(s) designated in a 

license issued pursuant to this article and only during the times set forth therein.  

Roaming sidewalk vendors shall not operate within residential zones between the hours of 8:00 p.m. 

and 9:00 a.m., and shall not operate on any city block for more than one hour in any four-hour period. 

 

NO SIDEWALK VENDOR SHALL OPERATE IN THE FOLLOWING LOCATIONS: 

1. Any public property or park grounds, including, without limitation, trailheads, streets, alleys, and 
City-owned parking structures, except on a public sidewalk. 
 

2. Within one block of a certified farmers’ market or a swap meet, during the limited operating hours 
of these events. 
 

3. Within one block of an area designated for a Special Event Permit for the limited duration of the 
permitted event. 
 

4. Within one block of any public or private school grounds, between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 
p.m., on days that school is open to students. 
 

5. Within twenty-five feet of any on-street valet loading zone, any City-designated passenger loading 
zone, or any taxicab stand. 
 

6. On or within any roadway, median strip, or dividing section. 
 

7. On private property without the consent of the property owner and a City-issued permit. 
 

8. Within one hundred feet of another vendor. 
 

9. Within one hundred feet of a driveway or entry to a fire station or police station. 
 

10. Within three feet of the display window of any building abutting the sidewalk or parkway that 
interferes with the reasonable use of such window. 
 

11. Within 25 feet of a train boarding platform or track. 
 

12. Within five feet from any fire hydrant, fire call box, or other emergency notification device. 
 

13. Within five feet of any electric utility cabinet, traffic signal control cabinet, communications cabinet. 
 

14. Within 10 feet of a marked crosswalk or the curb return of an unmarked crosswalk. 

15. Ensure that vending operations or locations are not located over a pull box, manhole, hand hole or 
any enclosure located in a public sidewalk or right-of-way;  
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16. Maintain an unobstructed pedestrian access route at sidewalk vending locations that is clear of any 
vending equipment or public obstructions including, but not limited to, street trees, news racks, bus 
benches, transit shelters, and curb lines. The minimum width of unobstructed routes must be 
suitable for the width of the sidewalk:  
 
a. Five feet when the sidewalk is no greater than thirteen feet wide;  
 
b. Six feet when the sidewalk is greater than thirteen feet but no greater than seventeen feet wide; 
and  
 
c. Eight feet when the sidewalk is greater than seventeen feet wide.  
 

17. Ensure that vending operations are not blocking and are at least five feet from the entrances to any 
buildings, driveways, or vehicle parking spaces. 

 

 

 

SIDEWALK VENDING IS PROHIBITED ON THE FOLLOWING PORTIONS OF THE SPECIFIED STREETS: 

1. North San Fernando Boulevard between Magnolia Boulevard and East Olive Avenue, and South San 
Fernando Boulevard between East Olive Avenue and East Angeleno Avenue. 

2. East Orange Grove Avenue between North First Street and Third Street. 

3. West Magnolia Boulevard between North Buena Vista Street and North Screenland Drive where the 
public sidewalk is 10 feet in width or less. 

4. Riverside Drive between North Hollywood Way and Clybourn Avenue. 

 

GENERAL REQUIREMENTS: 

1. The Vending Cart may not exceed six feet in length by four feet in width by five feet in height.  
 
2. Maintain and ensure compliance with all state and local permits necessary for the proposed vending 

operation;  
 
3. Keep the information furnished to the City current;  
 
4. Carry a license issued pursuant to this article at all times when operating in the City, and present the 

license for inspection at the request of any City staff member or law enforcement officer;  
 
5. Ensure that equipment used in connection with sidewalk vending operations are not stored or left 

unattended in public spaces or in any portion of the public right-of-way. (Equipment or objects left 
in public spaces or in the public right-of-way overnight, or outside the hours of permitted vending 
operations, will be considered discarded and may be seized or disposed of by the City in accordance 
with Section 5-3-211 of the Burbank Municipal Code);  
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6. Ensure that signs, tables, chairs, shade structure, fences, or other furnishings not approved for use 
in a sidewalk vending license are not used in vending operations;  

 
7.  Do not use any horns, music, lights, visual media, or any sound amplifying device unless expressly 

approved in the vending license;  
 
8. Do not sell or offer for sale lottery tickets, alcohol, cannabis, adult oriented material, tobacco or 

electronic cigarette products, or any living animal;  
 
9. Do not operate in the City between 12:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. If the City’s zoning allows any 

businesses on a particular street block to remain open until 2:00 a.m., then sidewalk vendors are 
prohibited from operating between 2:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. on that particular street block;  

 
10. Do not use or attach any water lines, electrical lines, or gas lines during vending operations;  
 
11. Ensure that sidewalk vending equipment does not physically alter or otherwise damage the 

underlying sidewalk;  
 
12. Comply with all applicable food labeling requirements established by state and local laws;  
 
13. Maintain vending operations in sanitary condition, including ensuring proper recycling and disposal 

of any waste produced as a result of said operations. (Vendors must operate with their own waste 
containers to allow the proper recycling or disposal of trash, food, or liquids generated by their 
operations and must leave their operations’ area clean by closing time);  

 
14. No operations that produce smoke, vapors, or noxious odors within 20-feet of an openable window, 

vent or intake duct;  
 
15. No equipment that produces a flame, spark or heat is allowed within the City’s Very High Fire Hazard 

Severity Zone (Map will be provided).  
 
16. No operation of generators or equipment containing wet cell batteries;  
 
17. Cease vending operations in any park one hour prior to park closure. 

 

PENALTIES:  A VIOLATION OF THIS ARTICLE IS PUNISHABLE ONLY BY AN ADMINISTRATIVE FINE 
ACCORDING TO A FEE SCHEDULE ADOPTED BY RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL 



City of Burbank 
Building & Safety Division 

150 N. Third Street 
Burbank, California 91502 

 

Insurance Requirements for Sidewalk Vendor License 
 

For purposes of issuing s Sidewalk Vendor Business License, Burbank Municipals Code Section 3-4-
2703(I) requires applicants to furnish the City evidence of comprehensive general liability insurance on 
an occurrence basis, in the form of (A) Certificate of Insurance and (B) Additional Insured Endorsement, 
prepared by their insurance company/agency, with information as indicated below: 
 

1. Company Affording Coverage 
2. Named Insured 
3. Policy Number 
4. Effective and Expiration Dates 
5. Signature of insurance agent or representative of the company affording coverage 
6. The City of Burbank, its officers, employees, agents, and representatives named as Additional 
Insured 
7. Cancellation to read "Should any of the above described policies be cancelled or modified 
before the expiration date thereof, the issuing company will mail 30 days written notice to the 
Certificate Holder.'' 
 
(A) CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE preferably in the Accord form (see sample) shall contain, 
among other information, the following: 
 

a. Minimum coverage limits of: 
$1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 aggregate General Liability (Applicable to 
all Permits) 

   
b. The CERTIFICATE HOLDER must be listed as: 
 City of Burbank 
 P.O. Box 6459 
 Burbank, CA 91510-6459 
 

(B) ADDITIONAL INSURED ENDORSEMENT naming the City of Burbank as additional insured, in 
either the Form prepared by the City Attorney or the insurance company Standard Form CG 20 
12 or CG 20 26, applicable for the issuance of Permits (see forms samples attached herewith) 
 

Both items (A) and (B) must be submitted. If either item is lacking or is not in the appropriate 
form, your liability insurance will not be on file with the City of Burbank, and the License applied for will 
not be issued. 
 

Please Note: Items (A) and (B) are to be sent to Community Development Department by the 
Applicant's insurance company.  Only Applicant's insurance company can add the City of 
Burbank as Additional Insured.  
 



ADDITIONAL INSURED ENDORSEMENT 
(Permits) 

 
Insurance Company: _______________________ 

 
This endorsement modifies such insurance as is afforded by the provisions of 
Policy No. _____________________ relating to the following: 
 
1. The City of Burbank, 275 East Olive Avenue, Burbank, CA  91502, its officers, employees, agents 

and representatives are named as additional insureds (“additional insureds”) with regard to 
liability and defense of suits arising from the operations and uses performed by or on behalf of 
the named insured for which the City has issued a permit. This insurance does not apply to (a) 
"bodily injury", "property damage", "personal Injury" or "advertising injury" arising out of 
operations performed for the City; or (b) "bodily Injury" or "property damage” included within 
the "products-completed operations hazard." 

 
2. With respect to claims arising out of the operations and uses performed by or on behalf of the 

named insured for which the City has issued a permit, such insurance as is afforded by this policy 
is primary and is not additional to or contributing with any other insurance carried by or for the 
benefit of the additional insureds. 

 
3. This insurance applies separately to each insured against whom a claim is made or suit is brought 

except with respect to the company’s limits of liability.  The inclusion of any person or organization 
as an insured shall not affect any right which such person or organization would have as a claimant 
if not so included. 

 
4. With respect to the additional insureds, this insurance shall not be cancelled, or materially 

reduced in coverage or limits except after thirty (30) days written notice has been given to the 
City of Burbank, Building & Safety Division, P.O. Box 6459, Burbank, CA 91510-6459. 

 
(Completion of the following, including countersignature, is required to make this endorsement 
effective.) 
 
Effective      , this endorsement forms a part of 
 
Policy No.       (Must Match Policy Number Above) 
    
Issued to:        

Named Insured 
 
 
COUNTERSIGNED BY:           
 
Printed Name:      Title:       
 
Insurance Company Name:          
 





HOLD HARMLESS AGREEMENT           
 

 
 
TO:   City of Burbank 
  275 E. Olive Ave. 
  Burbank, CA 91502 
 
DATED: _______________________ 
 
PARTIES:  CITY OF BURBANK, 
  a municipal corporation (hereinafter “City”) 
 
 
  __________________________________ 
  (Hereinafter “Applicant” – Must match name on application) 
 
 
The Applicant desires to obtain a Business License for Sidewalk Vendor for the purpose 
of conducting sidewalk vending activity on public property in the City of Burbank. 
Pursuant to Burbank Municipal Code Section 3-4-2703(J), the Applicant agrees to 
indemnify and save harmless the City, its officers, agents, and employees, from any and 
all claims or demands related to injuries to persons, including death, or damage to 
property sustained by any person or persons, firm or firms, corporation or corporations, 
including the City, from any acts, omissions, or occurrences, arising from the use of 
public property or any property in the City of Burbank as a result of conducting sidewalk 
vending in the City of Burbank, and which may directly or indirectly arise from, grow out 
of, or be attributable to operations under the sidewalk vendor business license arising 
from any act of the Applicant, or any of its agents, contractors, servants, employees, 
licensees, customers, or invitees and from all costs, counsel fees, expenses, or 
liabilities incurred in or about any such claim, action, or proceeding brought thereon; 
and in case any action or proceeding is brought against the City by reason of any such 
claim, the Applicant, upon notice from the City, covenants to resist or defend at 
Applicant’s expense such action or proceeding by counsel satisfactory to the City. 
 
 The Applicant shall be responsible for any damage to City property or other 
public property in the City, and shall promptly reimburse the City for repair or 
replacement as billed. 
 
 IN WITNESS HEREOF, the Applicant has executed this document on the day 
and year first written above. 
 
 By: ___________________________________________________________ 
 
 Title: __________________________________________________________ 




