BPD To Conduct Seatbelt Enforcement During The Thanksgiving Holiday
Burbank, California (November 22, 2021) – The Burbank Police Department will have officers on patrol November 25th, 2021 making sure that drivers and passengers are wearing their seatbelts. Drivers and passengers who do not have a seatbelt on will be stopped and cited. This also includes drivers who do not secure children in child safety seats. This enforcement effort is part of the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) Thanksgiving Holiday Travel Occupant Protection Campaign.
Occupant restraints have proven to be one of the most effective ways to reduce injury or death when involved in a traffic collision.
In California, the fine for a seatbelt violation is $162.00. The fine for not securing a child in a child safety seat is $490.00.
Under California law, children under two years old who weigh under 40 pounds or are under 40 inches tall must ride in a rear-facing car seat. Children under the age of eight or under 4’9” tall must be secured in a car seat or booster. Adults are reminded that it is a violation to not properly wear your seatbelt and that adults should avoid putting the shoulder strap under their arm.
The Burbank Police Department and OTS remind drivers to Buckle Up, Every Trip, Every Time.
QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS STATEMENT SHOULD BE DIRECTED TO:
SERGEANT EMIL BRIMWAY | 818-238-3232 | EBRIMWAY@BURBANKCA.GOV