hero image

Public Counter Hours

Location
Community Services Building
150 N. Third Street
Burbank, CA 91502

Hours
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Appointment Only

Phone
(818) 238-5250

Email
planning@burbankca.gov

Breadcrumb

Application Forms & Fees

All applications must be filled out completely and submitted with applicable fees. If your project requires more than one application, you can fill out the General Application once, and fill out all supplemental applications as required.

Before submitting an application, please contact the Planning Division to confirm application submittal requirements.

PLANNING PERMIT APPLICATIONS
SB 35 Application Form
 

California Senate Bill 35 (2017 Legislative session) created a streamlined and ministerial approval process for certain housing projects under Government Code §65913.4. The California Housing and Community Development Department (HCD) has prepared guidelines that further explain the requirements of Government Code §65913.4., which can be accessed at the following link:  https://www.hcd.ca.gov/policy-research/docs/sb-35-guidelines-update-final.pdf

Invocation of SB 35 streamlining must be initiated by the project applicant and is subject to the eligibility restrictions listed in the checklist at the link below.  Applicants intending to invoke the SB 35 streamlining and ministerial approval process must fill out this checklist completely and provide a full set of project plans (i.e., site plan, floor plan, demolition plan, elevations, and building cross-sections), and supporting documentation for each question, as applicable, to demonstrate eligibility, along with the required application fee.  Incomplete checklists that do not include required attachments or supporting documentation will not be processed and the request will be denied. 

Application Type Required Fee Forms and Requirements
Accessory Structure Covenant $594.00
Accessory Dwelling Unit $1,637.90
Administrative Use Permit    
Administrative Use Permit - Large Family Day Care $1,898.10 
Administrative Use Permit - Home Occupation - Music Lessons $1,250.20 
Conditional Use Permit $3,683.90 
Fence Exception Permit: Major or Minor

$758.50 

$2,515.70 

Floor Area Ratio (FAR) Exception $1,243.30 
Hillside Development Permit $3,627.30 
Historic Preservation Mills Act $0.00
Minor Setback Exception $289.30
Other Single Family Permits $3,627.30
Plan Check

$400.40 - Single Family Residential per Application

$616.00 for Other

Variance $3,436.40 (a)(b)

Note: Total permit fee includes either one or both of these fees: a) mailing fee for $258; or b) noticing fee for $248. Please see Citywide Fee Schedule for more information.

Application Type Required Fee Forms and Requirements
Administrative Use Permit (AUP)  

 

Home Occupation - Music Lessons $1,250.20
Development Review $6,986.70
Residential Landscape Development Review $374.00

Pre-Development Review (Conceptual/Informal Review)

$2,004.20 

Fence Exception Permit: Major or Minor

  • $758.50 for Minor 
  • $2,515.70 for Major
Variance

$6,470.20 

     
   

 

Note: Total permit fee includes either one or both of these fees: 1) mailing fee for $258; or 2) noticing fee for $248. Please see Citywide Fee Schedule for more information.

Application Type Required Fee Forms and Requirements
Administrative Use Permit  
Administrative Use Permit - Commercial Child Care $1,983.90
Administrative Use Permit - Home Occupation - Music Lessons $1,250.20
All other AUPS $1,983.90
Conditional Use Permit - Alcoholic Beverage Sales $6,976.20
All other CUPs $6,976.20
Development Agreement Varies based on time and material cost.  Initial deposit is $16,292.10
Covenants $594.00
Development Review $7,234.70
Commercial Landscape Development Review $748.00
Pre-Development Review (Conceptual/Informal Review) $2,004.20
Planned Development

Varies based on time and material cost.

Initial deposit is $12,933.80

Sign Permit Zoning Review $133.10
Sign Permit Program Review - Standard $445.50
Sign Permit Program Review - Planned Developments $891.00

 

   

Note: Total permit fee includes either one or both of these fees: a) mailing fee for $258; or b) noticing fee for $248. Please see Citywide Fee Schedule for more information.

Application Type Required Fee Forms and Requirements
Certificate of Compliance $1,101.10
Covenant Agreement $594.00
Lot Line Adjustment $1,544.40
Parcel Map $5,170.00 plus $61.60 per lot
Reversion to Acreage $5,934.50
Tentative Tract Maps - Condo Map $12,886.50 plus $60.50 per unit
Tentative Tract Maps - Land Subdivision $12,886.50 plus $60.50 per lot

 

   

Note: Total permit fee includes either one or both of these fees: a) mailing fee for $258; or b) noticing fee for $248. Please see Citywide Fee Schedule for more information.

Application Type Required Fee Forms and Requirements
Certificate of Compliance $1,101.10
Covenant Agreement $594.00
Lot Line Adjustment $1,544.40
Parcel Map $5,170.00 plus $61.60 per lot
Reversion to Acreage $5,934.50
Tentative Tract Maps - Condo Map $12,886.50 plus $60.50 per unit
Tentative Tract Maps - Land Subdivision $12,886.50 plus $60.50 per lot

 

   

Note: Total permit fee includes either one or both of these fees: a) mailing fee for $258; or b) noticing fee for $248. Please see Citywide Fee Schedule for more information.

Application Type Required Fee   Forms and Requirements
Alcoholic Beverage Sales (Conditional Use Permit)

$6,976.20

 
     

 

Covenants 

  • $594.00
 
Development Agreements

Varies based on time and material cost. Initial deposit is $16,292.10 (a 2x)(b 2x)

 
Pre-Application Reviews Varies based on time and material cost.  
Sign Variance

$6,470.20

 

Signs

  • Sign Permit Zoning Review
  • Sign Permit Programming Review - Planned Development
   

Wireless Telecommunication Facility (WTF)

If permitted:

$0

The Supplemental Wireless Applications is required for ALL 6409(a) Eligible Facilities requests. All applicable attachments such as the Propagation Maps, LOA’s and Photo Simulations must be provided. Incomplete applications will not be accepted for plan check submittal.

Wireless Telecommunication Facility (WTF)

If CUP/AUP required:

$6,740.80

 
       

Note: Total permit fee includes either one or both of these fees: a) mailing fee for $258; or b) noticing fee for $248. Please see Citywide Fee Schedule for more information.

Appeal Form (PDF)

An appeal may be filed the following business day from the decision date (noted on the decision letter or the date of the public hearing). Most appeals must be filed within 15 calendar days of the date the decision is made or public hearing date. To confirm the appeal period, please contact the Project Planner at (818) 238-5250. No appeal can be filed after the appeal deadline.   
 

If Multiple Appeals or Appellants

If more than one appeal is filed on a single project, all appeals will be heard together at a single public hearing. If a person decides to withdraw their appeal and only one appeal was filed, there will be no public hearing.

If multiple individuals wish to appeal a decision for the same reasons, the individuals may file a single appeal form with each individuals signature and share the cost of the appeal. For such an appeal to be withdrawn, all persons who signed the original appeal form must submit a written request to withdraw the appeal.

The Citywide Fee Schedule is available on the Financial Services Department webpage.
 

Planning application fees are approved by the City Council each year and become effective on July 1st in conjunction with adoption of the City budget. All Planning Application fees are due at the time of application submittal. Planning application fees include fees charged for application review by other City Departments, such as Public Works. 

Payment of fees may be provided by cash, check (made payable to the "City of Burbank"), or credit card (Visa or MasterCard). For credit card transactions, an administrative fee of 3% per transaction will be charged.

Resources for planning permits